Posted on:
10th April, 2019

The first 12 Institutes of Technology announced

New employer-led Institutes of Technology to offer top-quality, higher level technical education to help close skills gaps in key STEM areas.

The first 12 Institutes of Technology announced

Twelve Institutes of Technology (IoT) will be set up across the country to boost young people’s skills and set them on a clear path to a high skilled, high wage career, Education Secretary Damian Hinds has announced today (10 April 2019).

The Institutes will be unique collaborations between universities, further education colleges, and leading employers including top firms Nissan, Siemens and Microsoft. They will specialise in delivering quality higher level technical training (at Level 4 and 5) in STEM subjects, such as digital, advanced manufacturing and engineering that will provide employers with the skilled workforce they need.

IoTs form a key part of the Government’s biggest shake up to technical education in a generation. This includes introducing new T Levels from 2020 – the technical equivalent to A Levels – and more high-quality apprenticeship opportunities.

The lead applicants for the 12 successful IoTs are:

  • Barking & Dagenham College
  • Dudley College of Technology
  • HCUC
  • Milton Keynes College
  • New College Durham
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • Solihull College & University Centre
  • Swindon College
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Lincoln
  • Weston College of Further and Higher Education
  • York College

Next steps.  Successful applicants will work with the Department for Education to agree the detail of their licence agreements and capital funding agreements.  Following this, IoTs can start to develop the buildings and facilities they need.  The first IoTs are expected to open from September 2019.

Click here for more information and to read the government announcement in full.