Posted on:
4th October, 2018

Education leader appointed to Board of Liverpool LEP

Elaine Bowker, principal of The City of Liverpool College has been appointed to the Board of the Liverpool City Region Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) following an open recruitment process.

Education leader appointed to Board of Liverpool LEP

Elaine is principal of the largest further education college in the Liverpool City Region delivering academic, technical and professional skills across further education, higher education and apprenticeships. Her previous roles include strategic director of transformation at Manchester City Council and area director for Greater Merseyside at the Learning and Skills Council.

 Asif Hamid MBE, chair of the LEP said:

 “The LEP continues to attract the highest calibre of leaders from across the City Region and I am delighted to welcome Elaine to the Board. Elaine’s depth of expertise and knowledge of education and skills will be a tremendous asset to us and we all look forward to working with her to ensure the City Region delivers the skills that businesses need as part of a more inclusive economy.”

 Elaine Bowker, principal of The City of Liverpool College said:

 “I am delighted to have been selected to represent the vital role that further education plays in providing the skills that our city region needs in order to grow.

 “The skills gap is an issue faced by many industries and businesses across the country, and I’m passionate about working with fellow board members to put skills at the top of the agenda and bring about positive change. As principal of the largest college in Liverpool City Region, I’m well aware of the talent that exists in the area and the potential to drive our economy forwards, through a continued focus on skills, giving Liverpool City Region’s residents the best shot at becoming the leaders of tomorrow.”


Notes to Editors

For all further Media Information please contact:

Shelley Lockett at +44 (0) 151 237 3910/ 0788 444 3954

LEP Board

  • Asif Hamid MBE, Chair
  • Mayor Joe Anderson, Liverpool City Council
  • Prof Janet Beer, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Liverpool
  • Paul Corcoran, Agent Marketing
  • Cllr Phil Davies, Wirral Council
  • Chris Fry, KPMG
  • Dr. Jon Hague, Unilever R&D
  • Mike Houghton, Siemens
  • Cllr Derek Long, St Helens Council
  • Amanda Lyne, ULEMCo
  • Cllr Ian Maher, Sefton Council
  • Cllr Graham Morgan, Knowsley Council
  • Laura O’Brien, Seqirus
  • Cllr Rob Pohill, Halton Council
  • Steve Rotheram, LCR Metro Mayor
  • John Syvret, Cammell Laird Group
  • Angela White, Sefton CVS
  • Mark Whitworth, Peel Ports Group
  • Sara Wilde McKeown, Influential

All biogs of Board members can be found here